2010 Palanca winners honored

The Carlos Palanca Foundation honored winners of the 60th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards), the Philippines’ most prestigious and most enduring literary awards, in its annual awarding rites held at The Peninsula Manila Hotel in Makati on September 1, 2010.

Among the 50 awardees this year, more than half (54 percent) or 27 are former winners who have already won a Palanca before, while 46 percent or 23 are new winners. This year’s youngest winner was aged 12 while the oldest was at 66 years old.

In honor of Don Carlos Palanca, Sr., the Awards aims to help develop Philippine literature for writers to craft their most outstanding literary work; to be a treasury of the Philippines’ literary gems from our gifted writers; and to assist in its dissemination to the public, especially the students. Several bodies including the Cultural Center of the Philippines, the Manila Critics Circle, the Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino, and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) have recognized this noble effort by the Foundation and the Palanca Awards and awarded them with different certificates of recognition and merit awards.

The awards night had for its guest speaker Gregorio C. Brillantes, a Palanca Hall of Fame awardee and multi-awarded fiction writer known for his sophisticated and elegant style. His earlier collection of short stories earned him the title of the “Catholic Writer.” Brilliantes has edited leading publications in the country and has published his collections of short stories and essays.

For six decades now, Palanca Awards has indeed been enriching the country’s cultural heritage by recognizing the best works from thousands of entries all over the country. What started as a small yet potent collection of six stories in 1951 has now grown into a wide and deep treasury of Philippine literature.

At present, the Carlos Palanca Foundation already has, in its collection, 514 short stories, 360 collections of poetry, 202 essays, 340 one-act plays, 176 full-length plays, 60 teleplays, 51 screenplays, 142 stories for children, 34 futuristic fiction stories, 71 student essays, 34 novels, and 10 collections of poetry for children. These works are compiled and made available to all researchers and lovers of literature at the Foundation library.

This year’s winners include:

Filipino Division:

Dulang Pampelikula: 1st – Kristoffer G. Brugada (Patikul); 2nd – Jerry B. Gracio (Magdamag); 3rd – No Winner

Dulang Ganap ang Haba: 1st – No Winner; 2nd – Liza C. Magtoto (Rated PG); 3rd – Christian R. Vallez (Kapeng Barako Club: Samahan ng mga Bitter)

Dulang May Isang Yugto: 1st – Nicolas B. Pichay (Isang Araw sa Karnabal); 2nd – Floy C. Quintos (Suor Clara); 3rd – Allan B. Lopez (Higit Pa Dito)

Kabataan Sanaysay: 1st – Christopher S. Rosales (Gulayan Klasrum); 2nd – Marianito L. Dio Jr. (Ang Aking Pangalan, Ang Aking Kababata at ang Mithing Tilamsik para kay Third); 3rd – No Winner

Tula: 1st – Carlos M. Piocos III (Guerra Cantos); 2nd — Romulo P. Baquiran Jr. (Parokya); 3rd – Mark Anthony S. Angeles (Engkantado)

Tulang Pambata: 1st – No Winner; 2nd – No Winner; 3rd – Will P. Ortiz (May Puso Ang Saging)

Maikling Kwento: 1st – No Winner; 2nd – Rommel B. Rodriguez (Toxic); 3rd – Thomas David F. Chavez (Sa Kabilang Lupalop ng Mahiwagang Kaharian)

Maikling Kwentong Pam-bata: 1st – Christopher S. Rosales (Si Berting, ang Batang Uling); 2nd – Renerio R.  Concepcion (Ang Kagilagilalas na Paglalakbay nina Mumo at Am-I); 3rd – Bernadette V. Neri (Parada ng mga Alingawngaw)

Sanaysay: 1st – Maria Clarissa N. Estuar (Ang Reyna ng mga Tumbong); 2nd – Ferdinand P. Jarin (D’Pol Pisigan Band); 3rd – Mark Gil M. Caparros (Sina Bunso at ang mga Batang Preso)

English Division

Full-length Play: 1st – Jay Crisostomo IV (God of the Machine); 2nd – Jorshinelle Taleon-Sonza (The Encounter); 3rd – Lito Casaje (Shooting the Boys)

One-act Play: 1st – No Winner; 2nd – No Winner; 3rd – Peter Solis Nery (The Wide Ionian Sea)

Short Story: 1st – Ma. Elena L. Paulma (Three Kisses); 2nd – Ma. Rachelle Tesoro (Waiting for Rain); 3rd – Catherine Rose Galang Torres (Café Masala)

Short Story for Children: 1st – Irene Carolina A. Sarmiento (Tabon Girl); 2nd – Hiyasmin Ledi C. Mattison (Little Bear Goes Home: A Love Story); 3rd – Grace D. Chong (I am an Apple)

Poetry: 1st – Merlie M. Alunan (Tales of the Spiderwoman); 2nd — Rafael Antonio C. San Diego (My Name in Reverse); 3rd – Joel H. Vega (Latitudes and Other Poems)

Poetry for Children: 1st – Duffie Alejandrino H. Osental (After the Storm and Other Poems); 2nd – Patricia Marie Grace S. Gomez (Poems from the Pantry and Prehistoric Times); 3rd – Ma. Celine Anastasia P. Socrates (Playgrounds)

Essay: 1st – Miro Frances D. Capili (Vinyl); 2nd – Florianne Marie L. Jimenez (Postcards from Somewhere); 3rd – Corinna Esperanza A. Nuqui (Library)

Kabataan Essay: 1st – Miro Frances D. Capili (The Nature of Nurture); 2nd —  Anton Raphael S. Cabalza (A Shot at Perfection); 3rd – Catherine D. Tan (Green at Heart)

Regional Division

Short Story – Cebuano: 1st – Richel G. Dorotan (Si Tarzan); 2nd — Jonecito R. Saguban (Tinuboang Sapatos); 3rd – Noel P. Tuazon (Patas)

Short Story – Iluko: 1st – Sherma E. Benosa (Dagiti Pasugnod ni Angelo); 2nd – Ariel S. Tabag (Voice Tape); 3rd – Joel B. Manuel (Apo Bannual! Apo Bannual!)

Short Story – Hiligaynon: 1st – Andy P. Perez (Bayuso); 2nd – Ferdinand L. Balino (Dumdumon Ko Ang Imo Guya); 3rd – Jesus C. Insilada, Ed. D. (Walingwaling)#