FEATURE: DWCLCAAH awards 9 Ilocano achievers

7. Thom V. Pascual

Currently a tax consultant/practitioner, Notary Public and Certified Notary Signing Agent, he owns and manages Nina’s Tax Services doing bookkeeping, payroll and tax services. He is an auditor of the Filipino Community Council and a member of the National Society of Accountants and National Notary Public Association, USA.

A 1984 graduate of Divine Word College of Laoag City, he married another alumnus of the school, the former Ceferina Garma. They are blessed with three children: Kristie, Kleiff and Kyleen.

He lives with his family in Kapaa, Kaua’i.

8. Ernesto Pasion

He is currently in the County government administering county elections, voter registration activities and assisting the County clerk in providing services to the members of the Kaua’i County Council in the form of research and analysis projects. In the private sector, he has extensive experience in the areas of financial management.

He is also into reporting, analysis, budgeting, planning, business operations, asset management, staff development and supervision, and policy and controls. His extensive travel in the United States, Canada, Europe, and Japan provides him a broad business and cultural perspective.

He graduated with an M.B.A. [General Management] at the Roosevelt University, Chicago, Illinois in 1973; General Studies at the Northwestern University, Chicago, Illinois in 1971; BS Commerce at the St. William’s College in 1963.

His awards: U.S. Small Business Administration Minority Champion – 2008; Distinguished Service Award, Finance, Kaua’i Filipino Chamber of Commerce – 2006.

9. Amado I. Yoro

A founding president of Tapao Youngster Organization in 1972, he was co-organizer (and three times president) of the Sinaitenians of Oahu, Ti TAOH, Tapao Aid Organization of Hawaii, Gumil USA, Inc., Ilocos Surian Association of Hawaii, Aloha Saluyot Group, Tri Media Council, Divine Word College of Laoag College Alumni Association of Hawaii, Vigan Association of Hawaii, Hawaii Fil-Am Media Council, Mario Abinsay Albalos Foundation for Literary Award, Gumil Oahu, and Annak ti Sinait Iti Hawaii.

He was the founder/chairman of Dakilang Ugat Awards, AMMA Foundation Literary Award and one of the organizers and editor of Santak, an Ilokano supplement to Hawaii Filipino News. He was a member of the Filipino Centennial Celebration Commission, and chairman of the Hawaii Coordinating Committee for Sinaitenians 2nd International Grand Reunion, August 10, 11, 12, 2007 Hilton, Hawaiian Village Hotel and was member to numerous committees and organizations.

He was a Pedro Bucaneg Awardee in 2002; Man of the Year in Poetry 2007 by Gumil Filipinas; award winner in several contests sponsored by Economy Tours & Travel, Ulopan Literary Award, Gumil Hawaii, and others.

In 1987, he was given the Thomas Jefferson Award by the American Institute of Public Service and the Honolulu Advertiser; Pride of Waipahu 1988, Community Service Awardee by the Lions Club International.

A BSE-History graduate in 1970, he married Gloria P. Yoro, a Northwestern College graduate. They have one daughter, Cheryl Lei and grandson, Cameron Jay, 2 years old.#