Nutrition champions feted in awarding ceremony

Nutrition champions coming from all corners of the country were feted in a ceremony held at the Philippine International Convention Center last November 5,  2013.

The National Nutrition Council also paid tribute to the local nutrition committees headed by the local chief executive and the barangay nutrition volunteer workers also known as Barangay Nutrition Scholars.

“The awardees are living manifestations of local governments and Barangay Nutrition Scholars who were able to improve the nutrition situation in their areas,” Maria Bernardita T. Flores, Assistant Secretary of Health and NNC Executive Director said.

Flores added that while levels of malnutrition among children have decreased in the last decades, the awardees have demonstrated that malnutrition prevalence can be reduced to almost zero in their localities.

Department of Health Undersecretary Nemesio T. Gako, Jr. who represented NNC Governing Board Chair Health Secretary Enrique T. Ona; Food and Nutrition Research Institute Director and NNC Technical Committee Chair Dr. Mario V. Capanzana; National Dairy Authority Administrator Grace Cenas who represented Agriculture Secretary and NNC Governing Board Vice Chair Proceso Alcala; and NNC Governing Board Vice Chair Mar Roxas; and NNC Executive Director, Assistant Secretary of Health Maria Bernardita Flores presented the awards to the winners.

Undersecretary Gako who represented NNC Chair Ona,  delivered the keynote address.

The NNC conferred the Consistent Regional Outstanding Winner in Nutrition (CROWN) award to provinces, cities and municipalities that have consistently shown outstanding performance in efforts for nutrition improvement.

This year, the CROWN award went to the cities of Cauayan, Mandaluyong, Valencia and Bislig; the municipalities of Paombong, Bulacan; Mogpog, Marinduque; Gubat, Sorsogon; Jordan, Guimaras; Jagna, Bohol; New Corella, Davao del Norte and the provinces of Misamis Oriental and Davao del Norte.

Crown Maintenance awards were presented to areas that have outperformed themselves within the first year and second year after being proclaimed a CROWN awardee. Leading the First Year CROWN Maintenance awardees for this year are Vigan City, Tarlac City and Toledo City; the municipality of Polanco, Zamboanga del Norte and Quirino Province.

The Second Year CROWN Maintenance award went to  Lal-lo, Cagayan; Ifugao Province and Maasin City.

The Nutrition Honor Award, the highest award given to a local government unit for the successful and outstanding performance in nutrition program management for six consecutive years went to Tubigon in Bohol and Ozamiz City. The winners received trophies, certificates and cash award of P1 million  each that can be used to fund the local nutrition program.

The much-coveted National Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Scholar (BNS) Award was given to the BNS with outstanding performance in the country because of tirelessly monitoring the nutritional status of the vulnerable and for delivering nutrition services and other related activities.

For this year, the award went to BNS Felisa J. Guilingan of Barangay Guinles, Polanco, Zamboanga del Norte. Certificates and cash prizes were also conferred to Regional Outstanding BNSs.

The National Nutrition Council carries the duty of orchestrating efforts to address problems of hunger and malnutrition. The concerted efforts of government agencies, local government units down to the barangay nutrition scholars are crucial in finding the solutions to the urgent issues of poverty, food in security and malnutrition.

The ten member agencies of the National Nutrition Council are the Departments of Health, Interior and Local Government, Agriculture, Budget and Management, Education, Labor and Employment, Science and Technology, Social Welfare and Development, Trade and Industry and the National Economic and Development Authority.

Adding excitement to the event was the powerful musical performance of the world acclaimed and multi-awarded celebrity couple, Robert Seña and Isay Alvarez. Beauty queen and TV personality Venus Raj hosted the event which was attended by about 500 guests.#