Pangasinan literary works recognized anew

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan — Literary works of Pangasinan writers took center stage once more as the province’s best native language stories, poems and essays were recognized during the awarding ceremony of the 7th Kurit Panlunggaring  (Pangasinan Literary Contest) held at the Sison Auditorium here on April 5.

The Kurit Panlunggaring, which was the highlight of the commemorative program of the 439th Agew na Pangasinan (Pangasinan Day) celebration, is a poem, essay and short story writing contest launched by the provincial government of Pangasinan in 2012 to mark Pangasinan’s founding anniversary.

The conduct of the Pangasinan literary contest was aimed at enriching and developing the Pangasinan language by offering incentives to professional and aspiring as well as young local writers in Pangasinan.

This year’s winners with the title of their entries are as follows: Poetry Writing (Youth Division) – Ma. Rashel R. Torres (NĂ«n Inmimis so TawĂ«n, Akasulat ak na Anlong), champion; Louise Faye B. Calma (Maestra tan Arom ni ran Anlong), first runner-up; and Realyn Lee A. Nepascua  (Liwawa na AgĂ«w Ă«d DatngĂ«n), second runner-up. 

Essay Writing (Youth Division) – Realyn Lee A. Nepascua (Yaman na Kulturan Tawir Wala ed Kapoter na Kansiyon), champion; King Joshua Frias (Pangasinan Derlengen Ta ka), first runner-up; and Jemin A. Kim (Maaliguas Kulturan Pangasinan ed Ika-duamplon Siglo), second runner-up.

Poetry Writing (Adult Division) – James Dennis D. Tandoc (Edades), champion; Alex Romeo R. Fernandez (Balikas tan Palikdo), first runner-up; and Jahwella Q. Ocay (Pakanodnonotan na Imbeneg a Taon), second runner-up.

Children’s Story Writing (Adult Division) – Alma A. Nepascua (Say Alenleneg ta Nidumaduman si Idong), champion; Adrian C. Dela Cruz (Si Insiong Gilata), first runner-up; and Nicky A. Roque (Anghel Ya Bantay), second runner-up.

Shorty Story Writing (Adult Division) – Shane Carmie C. Sapera (Say Yegyeg tan Saray Kumpapey), champion; Mary Ann C. Macaranas (Onse), first runner-up; and Jayson D. Bustamante (Say Abugado nu Manangaro), second runner-up.

Aside from trophies, winners in the adult division brought home the following cash prizes: P15,000, P10,000 and P8,000 for short story writing and for children’s story writing; while P10,000, P8,000, and P3,000 were given to the top three winners in poetry writing.

For youth division, top three winners for the poetry writing were given cash prizes amounting to P5,000 for the champion, P3,000 for first runner-up, and P2,000 for second runner-up while top three winners for essay writing received P8,000, P5,000, and P3,000 respectively.

All first place winners this year are first time champions in their respective divisions and categories while nine out of the 14 winners are first time winners in the Kurit Panlunggaring.