PGIN, INPPO honor outstanding Ilocano cops, civilian volunteer groups

LAOAG CITY – Fourteen policemen, 4 police stations and volunteer groups were honored by the provincial government of Ilocos Norte (PGIN) and the Ilocos Norte Police Provincial Office (INPPO) during the 198th Foundation Anniversary of the Province of Ilocos Norte held at the Ilocos Norte Centennial Arena on February 5, 2016.

The police officers who were recognized were PCI Amador M. Quiocho, PCI Dennis M. Sumalileng, PSupt. Jose C. Calpito III, PSI Paul Benedict R. Parado, PSupt. Adolfo T. Rafanan, PCI Dexter Diovic T. Corpuz, PCI Jonathan B. Papay, PCI Randy C. Baoit, PSupt. Leland T. Benigno, PCI Rodrigo B. Galino, PSupt. Dexter Mariano T. Paredes, SPO4 Ramelito F. Piedad, PSupt. Albert E. Ocon and SPO2 Aurora Joy D. Manuela.

The Laoag City Police Station headed by Supt. Edwin C. Balles, was awarded the Best Performing City Police Station with a performance evaluation rating of 86.98% while Best Performing Municipal Station went to Paoay Municipal Police Station headed by PSI Nelson Del Castillo with a performance evaluation rating of 82.89%..

The INPPO said that the police stations were cited for their competence, coordinated efforts, perseverance, high sense of responsibility and commitment which elevated their effectiveness in crime prevention and crime solution in Ilocos Norte.

Two civilian volunteer groups in the province, the Motorist Anti-Street Crime Operatives (MASCO) and Barangay Peacekeeping Action Team (BPAT) Association for Direct Operations (MASCOBADO) were also given award for their support in ensuring public safety and internal security in Ilocos Norte.

The INPPO said all the awardees received certificates of recognition and cash prizes,

All the awardees were also chosen for their extraordinary efforts in disaster preparedness and response, aggressive efforts in conduct of drug operations, mobilizing the community against crime prevention and for working hand-in-hand with the provincial government, INPPO also said. (From the report of John Michael Mugas, PGIN-CMO)