Senator JV urges Ilocano youth to join SK polls

LAOAG CITY – Senator Joseph Victor “JV” G. Ejercito urged qualified youth to actively participate in the forthcoming national Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) polls set on October 31, 2016.

Ejercito, who is one of the principal authors of the Republic Act 10742 or the SK Reform Law, recently visited Ilocos Norte and served as a resource speaker along with Governor Imee R. Marcos during the SK Reform Law Forum held at the provincial capitol recently.

In said event, at least 200 young leaders from the 21 towns and two cities in the province attended and learned the salient features of the new law.

“The youth is the country’s hope in which their involvement to the SK polls is an expression of willingness for better system of governance,” said Ejercito.

He said the SK is a good avenue for the youth to immerse themselves in the process of managing government funds for growth and development.

Under the local government code, the SK has 10 percent share from the annual Internal Revenue Allotment (IRA) of the barangay which is allotted for the protection, welfare and programs of the youth.

For her part, Governor Marcos thanked Senator Ejercito for sharing the main points of the law to the Ilocano millenials here.

She likewise said that the SK is one of the appropriate training grounds for the future leaders in all levels of governance in the country.

In the forum, Marcos who is one of the founders of Kabataan Barangay (KB) in the Philippines also shared her expertise on how a true leader can be molded from the smallest group of the society.

The SK Reform Law, which is the country’s first law with an anti-political dynasty provision, raises the age requirement for those qualified youth to run for SK posts from 15-17 years old to 18-24 years old.

Under the law, the Katipunan ng Kabataan (Youth Assembly) expands its membership to include all youth of 15 to 30 years of age, and living in the community for at least 6 months.

Qualified members of the youth assembly shall elect the SK Chairman and seven members in the October 31 polls.

Each elected SK official has a three-year term. A secretary and a treasurer from the youth of the community are also appointed by the SK Chair with the approval of a majority of the youth council.#